Online Poker Blog At CarbonPoker PC MAC Download | 24/7 Support | Affiliates | Poker Odds Calculator | Faq

NBC National Heads-Up Poker Championship Field announced

The 64-player field for the 2013 NBC Heads-Up Poker Championship was announced today, and viewers should be quite familiar with a number of the players. Phil Hellmuth, Phil Ivey, Barry Greenstein, Viktor Blom, Daniel Negreanu, Doyle Brunson and Antonio Esfandiari are just a few of the big-names who’ll be competing in this event.

Some of the most notable exclusions from the NBC National Heads-Up Championship are Paul Wasicka, Chris Ferguson and Annie Duke. All three players have won an NBC Heads-Up Championship title, and Ferguson has made it to the final match three times. As for talented players who weren’t invited, it’s important to understand that this tournament isn’t all about skill, but also who’s good for TV poker.

Getting back to the invited participants, players will show up to Caesars Palace on January 24th, where the tournament is going to be taped from the 24th – 26th. Players find out who their first round opponent is on January 23rd, which has been dubbed “Selection Sunday.” Below you can see all 64 of the players who’ll be involved in Selection Sunday:

- Gaelle Baumann – Jean-Robert Bellande – Andy Bloch – Viktor Blom
- Liv Boeree – Justin Bonomo – Doyle Brunson – Olivier Busquet
- Dan Cates – Mohsin Charania – Joseph Cheong – Shaun Deeb
- Jonathan Duhamel – Tom Dwan – Eli Elezra – Antonio Esfandiari
- Will Failla – Andy Frankenberger – Phil Galfond – Matt Glantz
- Barry Greenstein – Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier – Jennifer Harman – Brian Hastings
- Isaac Haxton – Phil Hellmuth – John Hennigan – Maria Ho
- Phil Ivey – Faraz Jaka – Kyle Julius – Eugene Katchalov
- Phil Laak – Ben Lamb – Andrew Lichtenberger – Matt Matros
- Mike Matusow – Jason Mercier – Greg Merson – Michael Mizrachi
- Chris Moneymaker – John Monnette – Chris Moorman – Carlos Mortensen
- Daniel Negreanu – David Oppenheim – Greg Raymer – Vanessa Rousso
- Rob Salaburu – Matt Salsberg – Nick Schulman – Huck Seed
- Erik Seidel – Scott Seiver – Joe Serock – Mike Sexton
- Sam Simon – Dan Smith – Justin Smith – Jason Somerville
- Jennifer Tilly – Yevgeniy Timoshenko – David Williams – Qualifier