Online Poker Blog At CarbonPoker PC MAC Download | 24/7 Support | Affiliates | Poker Odds Calculator | Faq

Esfandiari eyes Second WSOP One Drop Title with Four Players Left

Last year, Antonio Esfandiari graced international news headlines after winning the first ever $1 million buy-in WSOP Big One for One Drop tourney. His $18,346,673 set a record for the largest payout in poker history and boosted him atop the all-time winnings list at $24,144,841.

Now Esfandiari is trying for a repeat as he’s one of only four players left on the final day of the $111,111 buy-in 2013 WSOP One Drop. “The Magician” is currently the short stack, but the chip counts are pretty close, as you can see below:

1. Bill Perkins – 14,700,000 chips
2. Anthony Gregg – 13,900,000
3. Chris Klodnicki – 12,000,000
4. Antonio Esfandiari – 9,200,000

One thing that really sticks out here is how Skylar Capital Management founder Bill Perkins is currently in the lead. Perkins has only cashed in one tournament in his life (2012 PCA High Roller, $58k), but he’s got the inside track on the $4.8 million top prize in this event.

Chris Klodnicki is another interesting player here because he has an Epic Poker League title ($801,680) and 2012 WSOP $50k Players Championship runner-up finish ($896,935) to his credit. He’s also final tabled two tournaments in the 2013 WSOP, so he’ll be looking to parlay some of this success into a One Drop victory today.

As for Anthony Gregg, he’s a very accomplished tournament pro with a 2009 PCA Main Event runner-up finish ($1.7 million), 2012 WPT Parx Open title ($416,000) and 2013 EPT Grand Final ($996,551) runner-up finish. Second in chips, Gregg has an excellent chance to add a $4.8 million prize to this list.

24 players finished in the money yesterday as play was cut down from 26 grinders to the four left standing today. You can see the 24 players who’ve already cashed below:

5th: Richard Fullerton – $1,066,491
6th: Martin Jacobson – $807,427
7th: Brandon Steven – $621,180
8th: Nick Schulman – $485,029
9th: Olivier Busquet – $384,122
10th: Lawrence Greenberg – $384,122
11th: Connor Drinan – $308,622
12th: Jeremy Ausmus – $308,622
13th: Matt Glantz – $251,549
14th: Martin Finger – $251,549
15th: Blake Bohn – $208,968
16th: Mike Sexton – $208,968
17th: Daniel Alaei – $173,723
18th: Andrew Lichtenberger – $173,723
19th: Phil Laak – $173,723
20th: Shaun Deeb – $173,723
21st: Jason Koon – $173,723
22nd: Farshad Fardad – $173,723
23rd: Dan Shak – $173,723
24th: Steve Gross – $173,723